Argentina, Chile and Canada, qualified for the World Cup

January 31, 2022
by Jordi Pi LletÝ Social Media Manager

Argentina, Chile and Canada, qualified for the World Cup

It will be the first World Cup for the Chilean national team

The Women's Pan Am Cup left Chile's first qualification for the FIH Hockey Women's World Cup in history, after reaching a final that they lost against Argentina (4-2). Las Leonas will accompany Las Diablas to the World Cup, as well as Canada, which took the third World Cup ticket by beating United States in the match for bronze (1-0).

Chile and Argentina qualified by beating the United States and Canada, respectively, in the semifinals. Las Diablas did it suffering, at the shoot-outs; while the Leonas prevailed with a clear 3-0.

Already in the final, Argentina took the lead against Chile with a goal from Majo Granatto at the end of the first quarter. She would tie Denise Krimerman already in the third period. Minutes later, Agus Albertario put the Argentines ahead again, a result that Krimerman equalized again at the start of the last period. But two more goals from the Leonas, from Gorzelany and Granatto, would make the final 4-2 that gave Argentina the continental gold and Chile the silver.

In the bronze medal match, Canada edged the United States with a lone goal from Amanda Woodcroft from a penalty corner late in the first period. Despite the efforts of the Americans, they could do nothing to beat Rowan Harris. The Canadians thus took the bronze and their first presence in a World Cup since 1994.